A Daytrip to Chuncheon from Seoul

2 Oct
Cheongpyeongsa is a beautiful temple.  It was the weekend after Buddha's Birthday so there were lots of beautiful lanterns.

Cheongpyeongsa is a beautiful temple. It was the weekend after Buddha’s Birthday so there were lots of beautiful lanterns.

Chuncheon is a day trip that you can easily take from Seoul.  There is a ITX train that 76 minutes from Yongsan to Chuncheon.  You can take the regular subway there, which is cheaper, but then you don’t get the comfy ITX chairs.

There are so many things to do here.  I hope to go back to do the things that I didn’t get to do on my last visit.  My day looked like this:  I took a train through the countryside, saw Soyang Dam, took a ferry near said dam in order to hike to Cheonpyeong Temple (Cheongpyeongsa), and visited the famous Dakgalbi Street, the birthplace of dakgalbi (one of my favourite Korean foods).

There are so many things to choose from.  What we did not do but I have heard are really fun:

  • Ziplining to Nami Island

  • Exploring Namiseom Island

  • Railbiking

  • Explore Jungdo Island

If you are in South Korea and you are looking for something different to do, this is guaranteed to a worthwhile trip.

This is the view from the edge of a 15 minute Ferry that you take across Soyang Lake to Cheonpyeongsa.  I love riding ferries.  As much as I love trains.

This is the view from the edge of a 15 minute Ferry that you take across Soyang Lake to Cheonpyeongsa. I love riding ferries. As much as I love trains.

Soyang Lanke

I love that you can see how high the lake can get.

wishes to Cheongpyeongsa

After leaving the ferry, we walked passed this wall of rocks. The little stacks of rocks represent wishes that people have made.

The temple was really beautiful. There were a lot of hikers there paying respects for Buddha's Birthday.

The temple was really beautiful. There were a lot of hikers there paying respects for Buddha’s Birthday.

I am not sure what this was about but I got my coin in when I tossed it.  I was The Price is Right excited.  It lasted only about three seconds before I composed myself and remembered that I was at a temple.  The people who were next to me were excited for me too.

I am not sure what this was about but I got my coin in when I tossed it. I was The Price is Right excited. It lasted only about three seconds before I composed myself and remembered that I was at a temple. The people who were next to me were excited for me too.

Reflecting pool

This was a reflecting pool on the way to Cheongpyeongsa.

It was impossible to get a picture of the princess without people on her.  I waited for a long time, she was a great photo op.  There is a story about this princess.

It was impossible to get a picture of the princess without people on her. I waited for a long time, she was a great photo op. There is a story about this princess.

This is the story of the princess and the snake statue.  It's a fascinating story.

This is the story of the princess and the snake statue. It’s a fascinating story.

The temple was really beautiful. There were a lot of hikers there paying respects for Buddha's Birthday.

The temple was really beautiful. There were a lot of hikers there paying respects for Buddha’s Birthday.

This was the view from Soyang Dam.  I was amazed at how high up it was.

This was the view from Soyang Dam. I was amazed at how high up it was.

Dakgalbi

Dakgalbi is one of my favorite Korean foods. That is saying a lot because I am a huge fan of Korean food. It is really simple, cabbage, rice cakes, sweet potato, chicken and a red spicy sauce. This is where it was invented. Many of the restaurants had long lines of people waiting to get inside. If you are in Korea, get dakgalbi, it will not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

