Aside

When you are Homesick – A Song for the Mira

22 Sep
I grew up looking over this river.  It is only a 40 minute drive from my home, but this is where my family would vacation.  We never went much further than here, but we didn't need to.

I grew up looking over this river. It is only a 40 minute drive from my home, but this is where my family would vacation. We never went much further than here, but we didn’t need to.

Living abroad has it’s ups and downs.  I realize that I am very lucky to be living a comfortable life and experiencing new things but sometimes I find myself wishing I was back at home.  I miss the Atlantic ocean and the fresh, clean air.  Mostly, I miss my family.

There are small things I do to ease this feeling.  Sharing stories from home is a favourite.  I like telling people what life is like for me back home.  I love to show pictures.

Another way is through music.  There are certain songs that bring me back home so quickly.  Tom Petty’s Free Fallin, instantly brings me back to my childhood.  My mom had a mixed tape with that song on it that she would listen to over and over.  I think because it was just a mixtape that she had.

I taught a folk song from home to a class of kindergartners last year. I wanted to share something from me, but I think I mostly just wanted to hear it. I want to share it here.

This song is called Song for the Mira by Allistar MacGillvary. The song is about a river in South East Cape Breton called the Mira River.  It has become a famous folk song over the years.

There are a lot of versions to choose from.  I like this clip from the movie Marion Bridge.  The women singing it have lovely voices and I just enjoy the video.

I would love to hear people share songs or rituals that bring them home when they are traveling.

Leave a Reply

